The POP 80's Page (or Late 80's)
Click on images for full size

A Wednesday Night At The Tokyo Dome - Tokyo Dome, Tokyo 02/11/88 (2 CDRs)
One of the most non-popish show from this era. Includes Mark Knoppler & Elton John., each play a couple of their songs
Boot CD>CDR  Great Live Records GLR 9237/38
Sound: A
Time:  disc 1:  42:10    disc 2: 39:52
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:****1/2
Heres what the Eric Clapton-FAQ says:
A Wednesday Night At The Tokyo Dome (Great Live / SB4) which featured seven tracks by Clapton. Missing were "Can't Find My Way Home" and "After Midnight". Elton John & Mark Knoffler performed on the bulk of the missing tracks.
Disc I
1) Crossroads
2) White Room
3) I Shot the Sheriff
4) Money for Nothing
5) I Don't Wanna Go On With You Like That
6) Wonderful tonight
Disc II
1) Cocaine
2) Layla
3) Solid Rock
4) Saturday Night's Alright (For Fighting)
5) Sunshine of Your Love

Pure Blues - Le Casino, Montreux 9-10/7/86, (2) - Le Casino, Montreux 9/7/86. (3 CDRs)
This three-CD set was recorded on 9 and 10 July 1986 in Montreaux, Switzerland. The first two discs are Clapton's entire set with the four-piece line-up of Clapton, Phil Collins, Nathan East, and Greg Phillinganes. Portions of this show were aired on French and Swiss radio, but this is complete from a master tape and has an excellent version of "Cocaine". The third disc contains Otis Rush's set that featured a guest appearance by Clapton. Although other titles with same sound quality have been issued, they are all incomplete.
Boot CD>CDR  The Swinging Pig - TSP-CD-156-3
Sound: A
Time:  disc 1:  63:20    disc 2: 61:41     disc 3: 73:54
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:***** (A Big 5)
Heres what the Eric Clapton-FAQ says:
Disc I & II: EC/Phil Collins (Drums)/Greg Phillinganes (Keyboards)/Nathan East (Bass)
Disc III: Otis Rush's Band
Disc I:
1) Crossroads
2) White Room
3) I Shot The Sheriff
4) Wanna Make Love To You 
5) Run
6) Miss You
7) Same Old Blues
8) Tearing Us Apart
9) Holy Mother
Disc II:
1) Behind The Mask
2) Badge & Let It Rain
3) In The Air Tonight
4) Cocaine
5) Layla 
6) Sunshine of Your Love
7) Further On Up The Road
8) Ramblin' On My Mind & Have You Ever Loved a Woman (w/ Robert Cray)
Disc III:
1) I Don't Know What Love Is
2) Let's Have a Magic Ball
3) Right Place Wrong Time
4) Mean Old World
5) You Don't Love Me 
6) Crosscut Saw (w/ EC)
7) Double Trouble (w/ EC)
8) All Your Love (w/ EC)
9) Everyday I Have The Blues (w/ EC and Luther Allison)
10) Caledonia (w/ Robert Cray and Luther Allison)
11) My Baby Wrote Me a Letter

M.S.G. - Madison Square Garden, NYC, NY 4/27/87. (2 CDRs)
Another Fantastic sounding show. Eric really lets loose on the guitar during this show.
Boot CD>CDR  Imperial - IMCD-97003-2 - sb6
Sound: A+
Time:  disc 1: 60:38     disc 2: 55:24
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:*****
Heres what the Eric Clapton-FAQ says:
EC/Phil Collins (Drums)/Greg Phillinganes (Keyboards)/Nathan East (Bass)
Robert Cray appears on "Further On Up The Road".
1) Crossroads
2) White Room
3) I Shot the Sheriff
4) Hung Up On Your Love/
5) Wonderful Tonight
6) Miss You
7) Same Old Blues/
1) Tearing Us Apart
2) Holy Mother/
3) Badge
4) Let It Rain
5) Cocaine
7) Further On Up the Road
8)Sunshine of Your Love

EC with The National Orchestra - Royal Albert Hall, London, Eng. 10/2/90. (2 CDRs)
This complete concert from 10 February 1990 has Clapton performing his hits backed by a full orchestra at the Royal Albert Hall. Of particular interest is the performance of "Concerto For Guitar & Orchestra" which is unforgettable. It doesn't come together on all of the numbers, but when it does it is sheer magic. "Sunshine Of Your Love" is a stand-out. This is Clapton as you never heard him before. Note that only two tracks were used on 24 Nights "Bell Bottom Blues" and "Hard Times".
Boot CD>CDR  Yellow Cat - YC 001/2
Sound: A
Time:  disc 1:  68:25    disc 2: 70:31
Flaws: None, some cuts betwen songs
Kahuna's Rating:*****
Heres what the Eric Clapton-FAQ says:
EC/Steve Ferrone (Drums)/Nathan East (Bass)/Phil Palmer (Guitar)/Alan Clark (Keyboards)/Greg Phillinganes (Keyboards)/Ray Cooper (Percussion)/Tessa Niles (Vocals)/Katie Kissoon (Vocals)/
The National Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Michael Kamen.
1) Orchestral Intro
2) Crossroads
3) Bell Bottom Blues
4) Lay Down Sally/
5) Holy Mother
6) I Shot the Sheriff
7) Hard Times
8) Can't Find My Way Home
9) Old Love
10) Wonderful Tonight
1) White Room
2) Concerto For The Electric Guitar
3) Layla
4) Sunshine of Your Love
5) Tears In Heaven (2)
(2) = MTV Video Awards, 
Pauley Pavilion Los Angeles on 9/9/92

Ronnie Scotts '87 - Ronnie Scott's Club, London, ENG. 10/6/87 (2 CDRs)
Although the voices are not always audible, this double CD documents a rare London club appearance by Clapton with Buddy Guy on 6 October 1987. In an interview for the South Bank Show a few days prior to this event, Clapton said that when he is around Buddy Guy, "something happens, some strange chemical reaction." This disc is perfect evidence of that. It has a fantastic version of "Worried Life Blues" but the real gem is a down-and-dirty version of "Wanna Make Love To You".
Boot CD>CDR  Gold Standard BG 321 / SB5
Sound: A
Time:  disc 1: 58:42     disc 2: 55:55
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:*****
Heres what the Eric Clapton-FAQ says:
EC/Buddy Guy (Guitar)/Chris Stainton (Piano)/Greg Rzab (Bass)/Gerry Porter(Drums)/Junior Wells (Vocals)/Chicago Blues Band
Heres what the Geetarz site says:
Note: A stunning performance, highly recommended. Several sources refer to this disc as a soundboard but it's actually a good quality audience recording. Recorded in a small club, it does not have the "boominess" associated with many audience recordings. Buddy Guy's guitar is clearly audible, and at the same volume level in the mix as EC's - this is not the case with the soundboard material recorded and broadcast from the show, in which Guy's guitar is very low in the mix and almost inaudible. A careful listen during quiet passages reveals that all instruments have some room reverb, as opposed to the "close" sound associated with being close-miked. In particular, listen carefully on headphones during the (stunning) performance of "Wanna Make Love to You" and the room echo on all instruments is easy to identify during quietpassages. A stunning performance, highly recommended.
Disc 1:
1) Sweet Home Chicago
2) Play the Blues
3) Key to the Highway
4) Walking the Dog
5) Stormy Monday 1
6) Real Mother For Ya
7) Stormy Monday 2
8) Jam
9) Worried Life Blues 1
10) Worried Life Blues 2
Disc 2:
1) Hurt So Bad
2) Wanna Make Love to You
Bonus Tracks, Dingwalls on December 3, 1985
3) Someday Baby
4) Early In the Morning5) Rock Me Baby



More Eric
The Further On Up The Crossroads Page
The Wonderful Tonight Page
Derek & The Dominos & Other Early Bands Page
The Anthology Page
The Silver and Gold Page
The Masterfile Page
The 70's Solo Page
The Early 80's Page
The Early 90's Page
The Late 90's Page
The 2000's Page

E-Mail Anytime