The Blues Master
Click on images for full size

BARCELONA BOOGIE - Palau D'esports Barcelona, Spain 5/18/90 (1 CDR)
Fantastic tearin it up blues. Hard guitar jammin set. Best Winter boot by far
Snb Boot CD>CDR  Barcelona Rockdreams Rocks92065
Sound: A
Time: 74:34
Flaws: None, sound wavers on a couple of songs
Kahuna's Rating:*****
Johnny Winter complete discography says: Another collector's dream
1) Got my Mojo Working
2) Give it Back
3) Your Humbuggin Me
4) Don't Take Advantage of Me
5) Red House
6) Mojo Boogie
7) Stranger Blues
8) Johnny B. Goode
9) Serious as a Heart Atack
10) Okie Dokie Stomp
11) Jumpin Jack Flash

CAN'T LOOSE THE BLUES - Live At Ventura Concert Theatre 9/6/1991 (1 CDR)
Another Hot & Bluesy Winter set. Good sound here to but not as good as above
Snb Boot CD>CDR  Not Guilty NG 40 891
Sound: A
Time: 65:12
Flaws: None, Begining of first song cut
Kahuna's Rating:****1/2
1) Got to find my baby
2) Slow blues
3) Pretty baby
4) Illustrated man
5) Blue moon
6) Sugaree
7) Instrumental
8) Mojo boogie

WOODSTOCK REVIVAL - Woodstock, Ten Year Anniversary Festival, 1979 (1 CDR)
A little more rockin show here but still hot guitar blues. Also great sound
Snb Boot CD>CDR  The Swinging Pig TSP-CD-213
Sound: A
Time: 63:00
Flaws: None,
Kahuna's Rating:*****
Johnny Winter complete discography says:
Sound quality: as anyone can expect of any Swingin'Pig CD, a superb quality sound board
     1) Introduction 
     2) Hideaway 
     3) Messin'with the Kid 
     4) Johnny B.Goode 
     5) Come on in my Kitchen 
     6) Rollin'and Tumblin' 
     7) Help Me 
     8) Stranger 
     9) Jumping Jack Flash 
     10) Bony Moronie 

Blues 'n' Tattoos - Central Park New York City 7/27/80 (2 CDR)
An other more rockin than blues also great sound with great sound. This one is going to be one of my favorites
Radio Snb Boot CD>CDR  Countdown Factory CDF-942019
Sound: A
Time: disc 1: 45:06   disc 2: 44:38
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:*****
Johnny Winter complete discography says:
Double CD Sound Quality: Excellent Soundboard
Disc 1:
1)     Hideaway(9:23) 
2)     Messin'with the Kid(7:38) 
3)     Boney Morony
4)     drum solo
5)     Boney Morony Cont. (All 8:13) 
6)     Mother-in-law Blues(5:56) 
7)     Sweet Papa John(14:00) 
Disc 2:
1)     the Crawl(4:37) 
2)     Highway 61 Revisited(9:22) 
3)     Rollin'n'Tumblin'(9:27) 
4)     Come on in my Kitchen(8:01) 
5)     Johnny B.Goode(6:43) 
6)     Jumpin'Jack Flash (6:31) 

A History Of The Blues - Texas Opry House, Houston 10/15/78 (1 CDR)
Killer Blues show, sound is good
Snb Boot CD>CDR   RockDreams 92097
Sound: A
Time: 71:00
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:*****
Johnny Winter complete discography says:
Sound quality: very good to excellent sound board - from FM
     1) Hideaway (8:56) 
     2) If the River was Whiskey (6:11) 
     3) Last Night (10:59) 
     4) Boney Moronie (9:08) 
     5) Walking by Myself (8:57) 
     6) Leavin'Blues (17:02) 
     7) Come on in my Kitchen (9:36) 

Tattoos 'n' Blues - Toad's Place, Hartford, Connecticut 8/23/88 (2 CDR)
Another Killer Blues show, sound is not as good as above. With some unknown blues filler at end of disc 2
Snb Boot CD>CDR  Rockdreams Rocks 92022
Sound: A
Time: disc 1: 67:06    disc 2: 73:50
Flaws: Has some skips between songs. Music is all good
Kahuna's Rating:****1/2
Songlist on cover doesn't match my copy.

Midsummer Blizzard - Montreux Festival, Montreux, FRA 1984 (1 CDR)
Blues from the Guitar Slinger tour. Nice recording with good sound. Could have played more blues
Snb Boot CD>CDR
Sound: A
Time: 57:57
Flaws: None, some fade outs between songs
Kahuna's Rating:****1/2

Live at the Tower Theatre - Tower Theatre, Philadelphia, PA 3/6/77 (2 CDR)
Total blues show with Johnnie playing with Muddy Waters and his band, includes James Cotton on harp, Bob Margolin on Guitar and Pinetop Perkins on Piano
Snb Boot CD>CDR
Sound: A
Time: disc 1 64:55   disc 2 61:28
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:****1/2
Disc I:
1) Hideaway
2) Cotton Jim
3) Last Night
4) See See Baby
5) Rocket 88
6) How Long?
7) Slow Blues
8) I Done Got Over It
9) Crosscut Saw
10) Talk to your Daughter
11) Intros
Disc II:
1) Muddy Intro
2) Hoochie Coochie Man
3) Blow Wind Blow
4) Walkin thru the Park
5) Deep Down in Florida
6) Blues had a Baby
7) I Can't be Satisfied
8) Trouble No More
9) Howlin Wolf
10) Mannish Boy
11) Got my Mojo Workin
12) Oh Baby

Living Legends J. Winter & B. Guy - Vic Theatre, Chicago, IL. 12/1991 (1 CDR)
This is an interesting boot. Looks like it has cuts recorded off the radio from a show where Johnnie and Buddy headlined but didn't play together. There is some fantastic blues on this boot.
Snb Boot CD>CDR   International Broadcast Recordings IBR 2565
Sound: A+/A Sound varies from Johnnie to Buddy, Johnnies set is much better
Time: 76:20
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:*****
1)      Got my Mojo Working (7:34) 
2)     You're Humbuggin'Me (5:40) 
3)     Got to Find My Baby (4:43) 
4)     Sugaree (3:09) 
5)     Mojo Boogie (5:36) 
6)     Shake your Money maker (3:56) 
7)     Blue Mood (4:22) 
8)     Born Under a Bad Sign (5:00) 
9)     Mary had a Little Lamb
10)   Damn Right I Got the Blues
11)   Messin With the Kid
12)   Mustang Sally
13)   5 Long Years
Tracks 1-8 Johnny Winter
Tracks 9-13 Buddy Guy

Johnny Be Good - My Fathers Place, Roslyn, NY 4/10/80 (2 CDR)
Hot Guitar show as Johnny branches back into the blues from his rock period.
Fantastic sound, Highly recomended
Snb Boot CD>CDR  Flashback World Productions 07.91.0155
Sound: A+
Time: disc 1: 39:11    disc 2: 44:43
Flaws: None
Kahuna's Rating:*****
Johnny Winter complete discography says: Superb soundboard, one of the best JW bootlegs


The Early Years Page
The Rockstar Era Page

E-Mail Anytime